He gave it all

There is a chapter in Captivating that talks about taking some time out each day or each week, to have some QT with the Lord and take time to reflect. And we all know that putting on worship songs and stuff  can help us to be more conscious of the Lord’s presence, but did you know that sometimes we can use secular songs as well? The love song playing in my head these days is “I don’t wanna miss a thing” by Aerosmith. [Lyrics]

[Bridge]
I don’t wanna miss one smile
I don’t wanna miss one kiss
Well, I just wanna be with you
Right here with you, just like this
I just wanna hold you close
Feel your heart so close to mine
And stay here in this moment
For all the rest of time

Which brings me to what I got during P&W today. Was thinking about scenes in those Korean/TW dramas. Sometimes it’s really cliche. The guy pulls the girl out of harms way (and into his arms) just in time to avoid the speeding car/bus/etc. The girl trips spectacularly but the guy catches her and steadies her. Things like that. Even practical pple, we scoff at these scenes, but inside we’re like, wah, longing for some guy to rescue and save u. (Then I’m like, but eh, I seldom trip and seldom/if ever anyhow walk on the road.)

Just felt Daddy-God saying to me, Hey. You have the Best Man, the Perfect One – Jesus. He came to save me. And His ultimate act of sacrifice on the cross (and the scourging leading up to it) proves His unending love. I don’t need to wait for any mortal man to enact this kinda Korean drama scene.

Also, Jesus gave His ALL for me. ALL. He could have given 1%, or even 0.1%. It would have been enough. Would have sufficed. Would u give your all, go all out for something/someone? Very rare right. Jesus gave His all, so that I could have it all.

—-

I got home and almost immediately after I logged on to MSN, sy shared a link with me. “10 ways to avoid marrying the wrong person“. Huh? Quite a long article from a Muslim perspective, but largely it makes sense lar. Let’s see. I like one of the points:

Avoid Lack of Emotional Connection:  There are four questions that you must answer YES to:

  • Do I respect and admire this person?  What specifically do I respect and admire about this person?
  • Do I trust this person?  Can I rely on them?  Do I trust their judgment?  Do I trust their word? Can I believe what they say?
  • Do I feel Safe?  Do I feel emotionally safe with this person?  Can I be vulnerable?  Can I be myself?  Can I be open?  Can I express myself?
  • Do I feel calm and at peace with this person?

If the answer is “I don’t know, I’m not sure, etc.” keep evaluating until you know for sure and truly understand how you feel. If you don’t feel safe now, you won’t feel safe when you are married.  If you don’t trust now, this won’t change when you are married!

Ok. Enough already. I want to blog about today’s sermon in a separate post.

Leave a comment