Zone Christmas Svc

I like today’s sermon, it was good! My prayer is that I actually walk out the message and not forget abt it after tmr. Below is what I feel are some of the more pertinent points of the sermon. =)

—–

Pastor started off by revealing the names of Jesus as in Matthew 1:20-23.
v21: Jesus (Yeshua) – to save us from our sins (salvation).
v23: Emmanuel – God with us.

==> Be ever-conscious of Daddy God’s presence in our lives!

Loneliness is just an absence of intimacy; a God-shaped vacuum in my heart [Let God fill me, and feel it! He’s with me constantly!]

Taking this word, LONELY, the N in the middle stands for “Need”. Our need for love and to feel loved. and what we gotta know is Jesus is here to fill us with His love. He wants to be our Valentine (Valentine just means sweetheart). Replace the “N” in LONELY with “V” (for Valentine), you become LOVELY! 🙂

1 Sam 16:18. Let’s look at the description of David in the bible. (Btw like Jesus, David was also born in Bethlehem)
There’s 5 descriptors of David in this verse, followed by the phrase, “and the LORD is with him”.

When I’m conscious that the Lord is with me, then these 5 qualities will manifest:

1. Mighty man of valour
Strong, brave, virtuous, wealth, courage (in the noble sense)

2. Man of war
Good in battle, resilient in difficult times. [Cos life is a series of tests/testings, which lets you go on to the next/higher level]

3. Skillful in playing
In-depth/intimate knowledge [of his craft]

4. Prudent in speech
Clarity in speaking, discerning, thinking and understanding. Efficient. [Discernment and clear thought process is from the Lord. When I’m conscious of the Lord’s presence, I’ll communicate more effectively!]

5. Handsome
Good looking, attractive and shapely.

==> When you’re conscious of someone being there, you talk to and interact with them!

Let’s look at s/o else who was also born in Bethlehem (aka Ephratah), Benjamin.

Benjamin’s blessings:
1. The Lord be gracious
2. Five times portion of food
3. Silver cup (redemption + no more judgement)
4. Five changes of garments (abundance — “life, and life more abundantly!”)
5. 300 pieces of silver (prosperity – I WILL be rich cos of Jesus! “My God shall supply all my need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus!“)

These blessings were a result of Benjamin being brought into the presence of Joseph, who represents a type of Jesus. Therefore, be conscious of Daddy’s presence in my life. Remember that He is Emmanuel, God with me. and the blessings that David, that Benjamin experienced will manifest in my life!

Leave a comment